2017 Municipal Election


News Release

Following Nomination Day for the County of Paintearth No. 18 there will be elections in 4 of the County's 7 Divisions. Diane Elliott in Division 7, Tyrrill Hewitt in Division 6 and George Glazier in Division 1 were acclaimed  as Councillors in their respective Divisions.

The County will be holding elections for Divisions 2, 3 and 5 at the County Administration Office and Division 4 will be held at the Halkirk Senior Centre. The polling stations will be open from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00p.m. Election Day is Monday, October 16, 2017. Voters will be required to have identification. Please see the County website for a complete list of acceptable identification.

Division 2
Brian Bunbury*
Dale Norton

Division 3
Jody Anderson
Stan Schulmeister

Division 4
Doreen Blumhagen*
Ken Wilkie

Division 5
Walter Weber*
Maurice Wiart

* Indicates incumbent candidate

Candidates do have 24 hours to withdraw their nominations if they were not acclaimed, so these nominations are unofficial to noon, Tuesday, September 19th, 2017.

For more information please contact Brenda Hepp, Returning Officer, County of Paintearth No. 18 at 403.882.3211

Unofficial Nomination Results

Click to view PDF




Effective 4:00 P.M., Friday, September 1, 2017 the County of Paintearth No. 18 is imposing a FIRE BAN to extend throughout the County of Paintearth No. 18.

All outstanding Fire Permits issued under the Forest and Prairie Protection Act are suspended until further notice.

The ban is imposed on all outdoor fires including fireworks but does not include gas or propane barbeques.

A person who sets a fire under this Ban will be responsible for the costs of extinguishing the fire pursuant to County Bylaw 648-16.

The Towns, Villages or Provincial Parks within the County of Paintearth No. 18 handle their own restrictions and should be contacted directly.

For further information, feel free to contact the County of Paintearth No. 18 Administration Office at 403.882.3211 or Colm Fitz-Gerald, Community Peace Officer at 403.740.2997.

Tarolyn Aaserud, CLGM
Chief Administrative Officer

The County of Paintearth No. 18

Assistant Director of Public Works


Crowfoot Crossing……Remembering Our Past, Building Our Future

The County of Paintearth is seeking a dynamic, knowledgeable Assistant Director of Public Works to join our Management team.

The successful individual reports to the Director of Public Works. This individual will be responsible to co-ordinate, organize, and supervise the daily activities for the County of Paintearth Public Works maintenance crews.  The County of Paintearth No. 18 has a comprehensive benefits plan and participates in the Local Authorities Pension Plan. The salary gird is between $82,920 and $99,547 per annum.


  • Knowledge in road construction and road maintenance with 10 years’ experience
  • Must possess effective interpersonal, supervisory, communication skills and the ability to work as a team
  • Strong writing and organizational skills
  • Excellent communication and interpersonal skills, and ability to deal effectively with people
  • Computer skills in Microsoft Office software
  • General knowledge of Alberta Occupational Health and Safety Regulations
  • Current certification or willing to obtain certification in:
    1. WHMIS
    2. Transportation of Dangerous Goods
    3. First Aid
  • Class 1 Driver’s License with air brake endorsement
  • Driver’s abstract will be required
  • Job related medical will be required

Interested individuals are invited to forward resume with references by 4:00 pm, September 29th, 2017, to:

Attention: Assistant Director of Public Works Opportunity
County of Paintearth No. 18
Hwy 12 & Twp 374
Box 509
Castor, AB T0C 0X0
Phone: 403.882.3285
Fax: 403.882.3560
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Pre-Authorized Tax Payments

Application Deadline:

This form must be fully completed and accepted by the County of Paintearth No.18 no later than December 15th, in order to participate in the Plan for the following taxation year. The tax account(s) must also have a zero balance at December 31st in order to participate.

Read More....